dda l zone - upcoming largest subcity in delhi


The Zonal Development Plan is a statutory document under the provision of Master Plan and it is to be prepared & processed under the D.D. Act. It provides a link between the Master Plan and lay-out plans.

According to MPD -2001, National Capital Territory of Delhi has been divided into 15 planning Zones. Out of these 8 Zones (A to H) cover Urban Area as shown in the Landuse Plan. Zone ā€˜Oā€™ Covers River Yamuna and the remaining 6 zones (J,K,L,M,N & P) cover Rural area / Urban Extension (refer map 1).

Delhi has witnessed a huge gap in the demand and supply of housing units. When the MPD was reviewed in 2006, it came to light that only 3.5 lac units are being provided by DDA whereas the need is for 35 lac units. This has forced the people to live in unauthorized colonies which are still of agricultural land status.


The Government has realized this slackness and notified a new plan known as MPD 2021 vide Gazette Notification No. SO 141 dated 07/02/2007. MPD 2021 envisages involvement of private sector in the development of land and provision of infrastructure services as an improvement over the current scheme of large-scale development and acquisition of land entrusted to Delhi Development Authority (DDA)

The basic objectives of Zonal Plan for Planning Zone ā€˜Lā€™ are:

i) Improved accessibility / connectivity with both the Urban Extension and the Rural Areas.
ii) Upgrade Infrastructure
iii) Preserve natural resources and eco system